SCHIZOPHRENIA release cover of SLAYER’s “Necrophiliac”.

You are currently viewing SCHIZOPHRENIA release cover of SLAYER’s “Necrophiliac”.

Antwerp, Belgium based Death/Thrash Metallers SCHIZOPHRENIA, have released the cover of SLAYER’s “Necrophiliac”, alongside an official music video. The track is taken from the band’s upcoming tribute EP “Chants Of The Abyss”, which will see the light of day on February 10th.

“Chants Of The Abyss” features six cover songs and personal interpretations of timeless classics by cult acts such as SLAYER, JUDAS PRIEST, MISFITSs, EXODUS, GBH and MORBID ANGEL, bands that paved the way for many out there and shaped an entire scene.

Cover artwork by Mario Lopez

Vocalist and bassist Ricky Mandozzi comments: “SLAYER has always been one of our main influences so it was an easy choice to pay tribute to them. We did it by covering a song from an album, at times underrated, but that embodies the definition of extreme metal. So here is our take on a song that we feel deserves more recognition due to its morbid lyrics, razor-sharp riffs and pounding drumbeats. Recording this one has been exciting and challenging at the same time, especially for Lorenzo who had the chance to cover another one of the most influential drummers, Dave Lombardo, along with Pete Sandoval from MORBID ANGEL not simply replicating their drum lines but giving his own take on the drums. We hope you’ll enjoy the outcome!“

“Chants Of The Abyss” track listing:

  1. Necrophiliac (SLAYER cover)
  2. Maze of Torment (MORBID ANGEL cover)
  3. Metal Meltdown (JUDAS PRIEST cover)
  4. Bullet (MISFITS cover)
  5. Strike of the Beast (EXODUS cover)
  6. Race Against Time (GBH cover)

You can watch the official music video for “Necrophiliac” below:

Please follow and like us:

Leave a Reply