Fortress Under Siege – Atlantis

Fortress Under Siege – Atlantis

Year: 2020
Total Time: 62:50 
Label: Rock of Angels Records

FORTRESS UNDER SIEGE was founded in 1992 by Fotis Sotiropoulos (guitar) and Giannis Vasilakis (guitar) after the disbanding of GLADIATORS. With the addition of Michalis Smeros on vocals, Nikos Dedes on drums and with Aris Mattheiakakis as guest musician on bass, they started recording their debut album.

Although they were inactive since 1998, FORTRESS UNDER SIEGE continued to compose new material and eventually they reunited in 2009. After their reunion, they have released three full-length albums, “The Mortal Flesh of Love” in 2011, “Phoenix Rising” in 2014 and this years “Atlantis”.

Although having only these three complete works in their quiver and their same-titled EP back in 1996, FORTRESS UNDER SIEGE, are considered (and not unfairly) a well-known Greek band, whose releases are characterized by their experimental and restless sound.

In “Atlantis” we find 12 new compositions of pure Progressive Metal, with some Power Metal extensions which give extra strength and speed to the songs. The album opens dynamically with “Love Enforcer” and “Lords of Death” while continues with the very beautiful numbers “Vengeance” and “Seventh Son” before closing with the exceptionally good “The Road Unknown”.

The new work of FORTRESS UNDER SIEGE is of very high standards once again, with an approximate duration of 60 minutes, it offers a pleasant company to the listener. The album will be released on the 9th of October and the fans of the Progressive Metal scene will surely enjoy it.

Rating: 7/10
Editor: Fanouris Exintavelonis
Related Link: FORTRESS UNDER SIEGE – Facebook Page

Please follow and like us:

Leave a Reply

Close Menu